Zucchini Fritters and Ranch

Zucchini Fritters and Ranch

Snacks are my favorite dinner. Honestly the smaller the bite, the more I want to eat it, it’s almost compulsive. My husband basically hates anything green, but being vegans, green is good, green is your friend. Sometimes feeding him is like feeding a small child, gotta sneak in the veggies. He’s not actually like a child, to be clear, I’m only joking, but it is less of a fight for both our junk food loving butts, to find new ways to eat vegetables.

These fritters are probably my favorite bite sized “snack” dinner, which I’m sure is more suited as an appetizer, but I am chubby, and I really don’t care. The ranch recipe, started because the nearby grocer here, stopped carrying Follow Your Heart ranch dressing. Which in its own right, has been both a blessing and a curse, because that stuff is so good, it’s hard to beat. Luckily with some trial and error, I’ve found an adequate replacement.

Zucchini Fritters: 

This is a modified version of fritters I originally found on Preety’s Kitchen, her version is just as delicious, but has less with slight flavor differences, changed to my taste.

  • Zucchini , grated 2 big or 4 small
  • 1 large carrot (totally optional, I personally just like the added color)
  • 1/4 Cup Onion powder, or half a small onion finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup of green onions, (optional) I also like green onions, unnecessary though
  • Garlic 2-3 cloves, either finely minced or pressed (I prefer pressed)
  • Salt (to taste)
  • 1/2 Tsp Black Pepper about
  • 1 Tsp Fresh or Dried Coriander (dried) if fresh I just eyeball about a palm sized amount, since fresh has more volume
  • 1/2 Curry Powder
  • 1/2 Cup All Purpose flour
  • 3 Tbsp Chick-Pea Bean Flour (optional) I prefer this, makes it gummies and easier to ball
  • 1 Tsp Baking powder
  • Oil for cooking

I use a large cheese grater, the rectangle kind that stand up, and grate the zucchini and carrot into a bowl. The original recipe calls for removing the excess water, but I personally found that some of the water, helps to bind the mixture together, with the lack of egg. For this I did not let the veggies to sit for 30 minutes as it calls for; instead lightly pat the grated vegetables with a paper towel, removing most, but not all excess water.

img_5944
I had a little grater accident 😦

In a separate bowl I add all the dry ingredients together, with a whisk. The slowly, add the dry ingredients to the grated vegetables, folding them in together. The mixture should be semi sticky, but clearly shape-able. Using a spoon and my hands, make small balls out of the mixture, and place it onto parchment paper, and lightly pat them down, to form a semi patty. I do these about palm sized, so they aren’t one bite snacks, but they aren’t large enough to put in… let’s say a hamburger bun.

Using a frying pan, I put in approximately 1/4″ of an inch of canola oil in the pan and heat it over a medium heat. Basically you want it hot but not burning. To test this, I use a wooden spoon, placing the tip of the spoon into the oil. When the spoon starts bubbling, it’s ready to use. Cook each side of the fritter, until golden brown, and enjoy!

Ranch Dressing

  • 1 cup Vegan Mayo, I used Follow Your Heart
  • 1/4 cup Almond Milk (or any dairy free milk)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • dash fresh ground black pepper, or to taste
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (regular vinegar is also ok, but apple cider is better)
  • 2 tsp fresh or dried chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp fresh chopped dill or 1/4 tsp dried

Honestly this is the easiest thing to make. I wish I could credit someone else for this, as it has been an adaptation of several recipes, but this is just an end result of trial and error, for what I think tastes good. Just pop all the ingredient, except the parsley and dill into a food processor and mix. Then pop in the parsley and the dill, and you’ve got vegan ranch. Super easy, and super delicious.

Leave a Reply

