Vegan Camembert 

Vegan Camembert 

A friend of mine shared this video recipe for a vegan camembert. Vegan cheese has been one of those things, I keep meaning to try to make and never get around to. She also tried it, and raved about how incredible it was. Obviously I decided to give it a go, and I am so happy I did.

My photo isn’t the best, as I made it for dinner, so the light was starting to go for the day. But oh my gosh, this was SO creamy and delicious. Kind of like a baked brie, if you’re unfamiliar with camembert. My husband went through an entire loaf of bread, because he didn’t want to “waste” it. Definitely one to make again, especially for guest!
Recipe:

  • 1 cup of soaked cashews (I soaked mine for 4 hours)
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tbsp of tapioca flour
  • 2 tsp of salt
  • 1.5 tbss of nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup of water

Pre-heat oven the 350 F, or 180 C. Combine all of this in a blender (I used a Nutra-Bullet). Pour the contents into a sauce pan and over medium heat, stir until it thickens. When the mixture has thickened, take a oven safe dish, lined with parchment paper, and add the cheese.

I sliced garlic (about 3.5 cloves) and pushed the slivers into the cheese, then repeated this technique with rosemary. Then drizzle olive oil on top, with a pinch of pepper. Put the cheese into the oven for about 20 minutes, and serve with bread.

Leave a Reply

